Society Events and Meetings 2017-2018

Unless shown otherwise, all meetings will be held in the Lower Meeting Hall of the United Reform Church, Ilkeston — entrance off Albert Street — on the first Tuesday of each month.

The Poor Law in a Derbyshire Village
Muggington 1730-1837

John Barnett

Tuesday 2nd May 2017 at 7.45pm

The planned talk, Felix Bus Services of Stanley by Paul Chambers has had to be cancelled.

A Derbyshire Railway Tour

Robert Mee

Tuesday 6th June 2017 at 7.45pm

A Taste of Tudor Little Hallam

Meet at 2pm in front of the shops on Lower Stanton Road opposite Cavendish Road

Sunday 9th July 2017 at 7.45pm

A Twist In The Tale:
Chesterfield St.Mary’s

Tony Hallam

Tuesday 5th September 2017 at 7.45pm

Coal Mining in the Erewash Valley

David Amos

Tuesday 3rd October 2017 at 7.45pm

Revealing Leicester Greyfriars

Matthew Morris

Tuesday 7th November 2017 at 7.45pm

Wheels of Industry — Langley Mill

Robert Mee

Tuesday 2nd January 2018 at 7.45pm

The Archaeology of the Trams

Laura Binns

Tuesday 6th February 2018 at 7.45pm

Denby Pottery:
A Potted History

Helen Monk

Tuesday 6th March 2018 at 7.45pm

Annual General Meeting

Followed by

A Winters’ Tale: The Winter of 1963
Its Cause and Effect

Stephen Flinders

Tuesday 3rd April 2018 at 7.45pm

Walker Lane:
19th Century Derby’s Own Whitechapel

Jane Whitaker

Tuesday 1st May 2018 at 7.45pm

A Day in the Life of a Victorian Governess

Liz Keeley

Tuesday 5th June 2018 at 7.45pm